Snow Days in the South

Image

On the left is the view of the Snowpocalypse of 2011 in the Chicago-area from our old apartment. On the right is the view of the snowstorm from our apartment in Charlottesville on Feb. 13-14 of this year. The biggest difference is that we got three days off in 2011 and the snow stuck around for a while in Chicago. Whereas, the snow melted away soon after the storm ended here in Cville.

I’m no stranger to snow.

I grew up in the Detroit area, went to undergrad at Michigan State University in Lansing, and I lived in the Chicago area for five years. I know how helpful it is to put the windshield wipers up on my parked car when a snowstorm is coming, I’m used to keeping a snow brush in my car all year – just in case. I own a formal winter coat, as well as a puffy, ski coat.

But for most of this winter, I have been surprised at being able to wear my fall trench coat around Cville, as it’s been in the 40s and 50s, sometimes getting as high as the 60s. While, my friends and family in Detroit and Chicago have been slammed by the Polar Vortex. One former colleague even remarked that this is the worst winter he’s seen in the Chicago area since the 1960s.

Then, Cville finally got the first official snow days of the year, and I had to fish out my old ski pants and boots from storage.

Because my job is associated with the University, I had two unexpected days off from work, but I found myself home alone for these snow days while my husband interviewed (ironically enough) in Chicago this week. I did the usual – catching up on work and personal emails, watching the Olympics, cleaning the house, reading ahead for book clubs. But I couldn’t stay cooped up for long as I started to develop a bit of cabin fever…yet I didn’t want to venture out into the snow drifts by myself.

Fortunately, some Darden partners came to my rescue!

Image

Being kids again in the snow with some Darden partners and students! I found out different MacGyver-like techniques for sledding (AKA – riding a shovel like a broom stick, covering large pieces of cardboard with trash bags and re-purposing old tires). And I found out the best method for creating an igloo is to use half melted snow: It’s more pliable, and when it gets colder, it starts to freeze together.

One partner brought his new snow shovel to my apartment complex to help clear the 10 inches of snow from behind my car and my husband’s car. Another partner invited us over to a nearby park with a sledding hill and a field to build an igloo. I’m glad they got me out of my solitary state to appreciate the beauty of the fleeting snow, as it has already mostly melted with the rising temps and sun.

After our outdoor excursion, we warmed up by tossing our socks into the dryer, cracking open a few local craft brews (my fav being the Devil’s Backbone Blonde) and ordering Mellow Mushroom – the best pizza in the area (although I still miss my Chicago deep dish from Lou’s) for dinner. Plus, smores dip for dessert! My new fav, easy sweet snack in cold weather. 

So grateful to have partners and students keeping me company, especially while flying solo during B-school interview season! 

What are your favorite snow day indoor and outdoor activities? Please comment below with your ideas!

Leave a Reply

